Prominent Alumni

Prominent alumni

The University of Melbourne has a number of prominent alumni in the community spanning many different areas including:

Arts, entertainment, literature, media

  • Stephanie Alexander - Chef and author
  • Gillian Armstrong - Filmmaker
  • Les Carlyon - Journalist
  • Deborah Conway - Singer/songwriter
  • Paul Cox - Filmmaker
  • John Duigan - Filmmaker
  • Lorraine Elliott - Former Director, Melbourne International Arts Festival, Parliamentary Secretary for the Arts
  • Ronald Farren-Price - Pianist
  • Helen Garner - Author
  • Robert Gottliebsen - Finance journalist
  • Michelle Grattan - Political journalist
  • Germaine Greer - Author
  • Jack Hibberd - Playwright/novelist and doctor
  • Barry Humphries - Theatre and television performer
  • Peter Isaacson - Publisher
  • Ramona Koval - Radio broadcaster
  • Patrick McCaughey - Curator and art critic, Festival of Ideas 2011 director
  • Hilary McPhee - Editor, writer
  • Joanna Murray-Smith - Playwright
  • Hannie Rayson - Playwright
  • Peter Sculthorpe - Composer
  • Rob Sitch - Television performer
  • Magda Szubanski - Television performer, writer
  • Chris Wallace-Crabbe - Poet and essayist, comedian
  • Jana Wendt - Author and former television journalist
  • David Williamson - Playwright

back to top


  • Phillip Brass- Former Managing Director, Pacific Dunlop
  • James Dominguez- Director, O’Connell Street Associates
  • Leigh Clifford- Chairman, Qantas Airways
  • Carillo Gantner- Chairman, The Sidney Myer Fund
  • Charles Goode- Former Chairman, ANZ Bank
  • Sir Brian Inglis, Former Chairman, Amcor
  • Robert Kirby- Executive Chairman, Village Roadshow
  • Davis Knott- Former Chairman, ASIC
  • Ananda Krishnan- CEO, Usaha Tegas Sdn Bhd
  • Hugh Morgan- Former Board Member, Reserve Bank of Australia
  • Rupert Myer- Director, Myer Family Company
  • Elizabeth Proust- Chairman, Bank of Melbourne
  • James Riady- Chairman, Lippo Group

back to top


  • Lord Alec Broers- Former Vice Chancellor, University of Cambridge
  • Geoffrey Blainey- Historian and former Chancellor of Ballarat University
  • Adrienne Clarke- Chancellor, La Trobe University
  • Gareth Evans- Chancellor, Australian National University and former Federal Foreign Minister
  • Dame Leonie Kramer- Former Chancellor of University of Sydney
  • Peter Laver- Vice President, Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
  • Fay Marles- Ross Millikan- Director, Educational Collaborations
  • Roslyn Otzen- Former Principal, Korowa Girls School
  • Dorothy Pizzey- Former Principal, St Catherine's Girls School
  • Ian Renard- Former Chancellor, University of Melbourne
  • Peter Singer- Philosopher and Professor, University of Melbourne and Princeton University 

back to top

Politics and government

  • The Hon. Julia Gillard, Former Prime Minister of Australia
  • His Excellency The Hon. Alex Chernov, Governor of Victoria
  • The Hon. Louise Asher- Victorian Minister for Innovation, Services and Small Business
  • The Hon. John Brumby- Former Premier of Victoria
  • The Right Hon. Sir Zelman Cowen- Former Governor General of Australia
  • David de Kretser- Former Governor of Victoria
  • Petro Georgiou- Former Federal Politician
  • The Hon. Sir James Gobbo- Former Governor of Victoria
  • The Hon. Robin Gray- Former Premier of Tasmania
  • The Hon. Clyde Holding- Former Federal Minister
  • The Hon. Brian Howe- Former Federal Minister
  • The Hon. Barry Jones- Former ALP National President and Federal Minister
  • The Hon. Joan Kirner- Former Premier of Victoria
  • The Hon. David Kemp- President, Liberal Party of Australia (Victoria Division) and former Federal Minister
  • The Hon. Andrew Peacock- Former Federal Minister and Federal Leader of the Opposition
  • The Hon. Thomas Pickering- Former US Ambassador
  • John So- Former Lord Mayor of Melbourne
  • The Hon. Alan Stockdale, Federal President of the Liberal Party of Australia
  • Sir Ninian Stephen- Former Governor General of Australia
  • The Hon. Lindsay Tanner- Former Federal Minister
  • The Hon. David White- Former Victorian Minister
  • The Hon. Ralph Willis- Chairman of Western Health and Former Federal Treasurer

back to top

Legal, Medical and Engineering

  • Rosemary Balmford- Retired Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria
  • Elizabeth Blackburn- Scientist, first Australian woman to win Nobel Prize (2009 Nobel Prize for Medicine)
  • Brian Burdekin- Former Special Advisor, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
  • The Hon. Sally Brown- Retired Judge, Family Court of Australia
  • Suzanne Cory- President, Australian Academy of Science
  • The Hon. Justice Susan Crennan- Justice, High Court of Australia
  • The Hon. Sir Daryl Dawson- Retired Justice, High Court of Australia
  • Ian Gust- Chairman, Bio21 Cluster
  • Sandra Hacker-  Psychiatrist, Former Chair of Northern Health
  • The Hon. Justice Kenneth Hayne- Justice, High Court of Australia
  • Brian Loton- Former Chairman and CEO, BHP
  • Mechai Viravaidya- Founder and Chairman, Population & Community Development Association (Thailand)
  • Sir Gustav Nossal- Immunologist and former President, Australian Academy of Science
  • John Stocker- Company Director and former Chairman, CSIRO
  • Carl Wood- Founder of Monash IVF

back to top


  • David Crawshay- Olympic Rower (Gold Medallist)
  • Ralph Doubell- Olympic Athlete (Gold Medallist)
  • Herb Elliott- Olympic Athlete (Gold Medallist)
  • Margot Foster- Olympic Rower (Bronze Medallist)
  • Cathy Freeman- Olympic Athlete (Gold Medallist) and Australian of the Year (1998)
  • John Landy- Olympic Athlete and Former Governor of Victoria
  • Simon Madden- Australian Rules footballer
  • Paul Sheahan- Australian Test cricketer
  • Kathy Watt- Olympic Cyclist (Gold Medallist)

back to top